My personal experience of being a teacher…

I don’t know how it all happened but as I remember I never wanted this profession way back. The day I graduated, some of my friends are already convincing me to teach but I hesitated because I know that being a teacher is a tough profession, I even told my friends that if in time I’d be a teacher, I won’t be efficient because all I will have to do is to give students tough assignments and I will never explain the lesson, I’ll just be a friend to the students and that will off-set it all. Yeah, I was once a student and I remember how hard our teachers work for us, they are always convincing us and encouraging us to do what we don’t want to do and I have to admit that they were like our second parents but out of all the hard task they’ve been doing, they still get to be criticized in the end. Well, that’s one thing why I don’t even bother to take this profession.

It was been offered to me but I hesitated and I started working in a company, my first job was not so good coz it’s not what I really wanted to do, its hell out of my interest too, so I resigned. The other was too well, I gained lots of friends but I don’t think I’m enjoying it because I’m not learning, I’m the type of person who wanted to know something about everything and when I was there I just felt like I’m becoming dumb, so I resigned. Then I thought at last I found my dream job, we’re one of the pioneering people inside the company since this is a start-up company. At first, I’m really enjoying it, actually this is really what I wanted, programming, innovating new ideas, manipulating the computer, proposing to clients, seminars, “games” damn yes it was fun but it’s hell a lot of risk because aside that this work is project based, the company is falling down, until such time that things are falling apart and things are at its worst. Well I did not resign, I just didn’t show when things are becoming at its most horrible, you may say that it’s very unprofessional thing to do but not to worry, I’m not that type, after some time I eventually talked to the owner and yeah they understand and they even want me back, well enough about that. I’m pertaining to my being a teacher, being a programmer is another story.

Well, hear now, I’ll tell you one of the best experiences I ever had, when my last company was falling down, I decided to apply for any job. My mindset was “whoever comes first, god wants me to be there.” Well, I passed resumes to a few company that day and one of it was at informatics. Since my phone got lost that time, I gave the number of my sister. So there it is, the company inviting me for an interview. I wasn’t aware that my sister already confirmed an interview at informatics and that day I still have projects to finish, my sister scheduled me already so all I have to do is to be present. Men, I don’t even know what position I am applying for. I went there clueless; I haven’t even had my resume with me. I have a piece of khaki pants on my bag because I still have to change after. I remember it was raining then, and I’m all wet. I don’t want to attend it already but I was thinking I just have to. So I had my interview; and guess what the only position open is the profession I have been hesitating my whole life!!! A lecturer!!! Yeah, it was really a hard thought and I don’t even want to go back anymore. It was sort of a promise to the interviewer that I’d be back for the demonstration which I had a lot of thinking if I’d continue or not. I still have my so called mindset goal and I was praying that some company might call. Well, too bad no other company did, so I have to be back the next day and had this.. uhhm. In short I got hired.

Things happened so fast I have to teach that instance, waaah, I can’t even believe I was a uuhhm teacher. So I gave it a try, I said to myself ok I’ll just have to give it my best shot. I was really terrified, worried, scared well I really have mixed emotions of uncertainties that day. I thought to myself I’ll just be here 1 week and I’ll just have to resign, but the first time I handled a class, I remembered the course was java app programming, I told the class that I’m new to teaching and they must understand whatever inconsistencies they might observe. Well, the first day went good my students are participating and I really enjoyed it then I went back, the one week got extended and extended and extended. I was hell yeah enjoying it. Even if the other company I’ve applied are calling I never really answered to that because I like the profession already, and yeah I’m not mistaken with my percept of being a teacher it was really a hard task, but what’s good about this is it’s a rewarding experience specially when your students shows gratitude of how thankful they are that they have you to educate them. Well, I can say that this profession is something you could love and hate at the same time but after the hard work and pain you can look back to something you can be proud of and when you see the results, the lack of compensation will after all be rewarded by thank you and hugs coming from students, then suddenly realize that everything is worthwhile after all.

14 responses to “My personal experience of being a teacher…”

  1. Pretty_gurl says :

    Some hardtask.. but you’re talented… I’m sure you’re a great teacher

  2. chaos23 says :

    If you’re a teacher and I’m yet a student… I wish to be your student.. XD

  3. rhiana13 says :

    Well, don’t wish it might come true you might be sorry.. hehehe

  4. June Murgor says :

    Thanks, this article has REALLY, REALLY, helped me!
    I’m 24 years old, meant to start lecturing in September, but I’m NERVOUS because I am an introvert, not good at socializing and I wonder how I will make it. Any tips for the shy, quiet girl? Do I need to take any lessons to be able to explain stuff?

    PS: I’m from Kenya, Africa

    • says :

      Hi June, I have long resigned of being a teacher now for a reason that I have to seek for a greener pasture here abroad, but just to point this out… being a teacher is the most rewarding experience to all the professions I ever had. If I have one profession that I would like to start with when I want to settle down for good that is teaching. I am now 27, I started teaching when I was 21, my students were older than me that time and I was a bit intimidated, but I’m telling you once you step on that floor and you share your knowledge to these people and to see them listening to you, participating, building that rapport with them is a once in a lifetime joy… Of course, it is a challenge but just be confident and make sure that you know what you are about to impart to them students, being an introvert is not an issue as long as you know how to understand your students, get them through their hearts and not their heads then you’re good… Good Luck and Enjoy

  5. HANNIAH says :

    i enjoyed what I read because I’m taking BEED.

  6. teebaum öl says :

    I really like what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll.

  7. zahncreme weißE zähne says :

    Hey, you used to write wonderful, but the last several posts have been kinda boring… I miss
    your tremendous writings. Past several posts are just a little out
    of track! come on!

    • Yang says :

      hi there, my apology for the current posts… thanks for the heads up… I’ll try to write nice stories again once I’m composed. Thank you for visiting my blogs…

  8. Deluxe Business Checks Ordering says :

    how incredibly beautiful it is

  9. WL says :

    you must be an awesome teacher!

  10. เครื่องออกกำลังกาย says :

    Thanks for finally writing about >My personal experience
    of being a teacher | Journey to Crystal Buoyancy <Liked it!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. A tribute to informatics… « An introvert’s point of view… - November 5, 2007

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

